“The time has come, the time is now” the Walrus said.

Usually December 8 in Italy means unveiling and lighting of Christmas trees and all Natale decorations, but last week, Rome just about caught the Black Friday train with the inauguration of Roma si mette in luce, alighting the city to begin holiday celebrations.   Grafted into my DNA for centuries, I am obligated by genetics to traipse around the city for my ongoing quest of  addobbi natalizi.   And as I am sucker for routine, here’s how I begin:

Fendi

  1. Palazzo Fendi: my go-to light fest, always  hoping that Fendi will throw in some color like 2007
  2. Piazza Venezia: oftens a very conceptual/abstract interpretation of “christmas tree”.  Electric camels?
  3. Piazza Navona: who can’t resist the 19th century giostra and freshly spun zucchero filato?
  4. Eleonora on Via Babuino: because I still can’t believe I never immortalized the artic fuzz spilling out of the front entrance in days of yore…  *shopaholics may want to consider a tea respite here for Kusmi and haute couture
  5. Piazza Barberini:  for the lighting of the gigantic menorah during Hanukkah

With a chaser –  Via Appia Nuova because I love those big snowflakes on COIN

This year, I’ll add to the VIP (very important piazze) list  Piazza San Lorenzo in Lucina in the hopes that  Louis Vuitton unveils some well-designed holiday rivalry at its soon-to-open megastore/collective space (think: fashion-cinema-art) in Spazio Etoile.  The construction workers did promise it would be open shortly…. And I’m giving EUR a chance, not just because it is close to three of my favorite I-will-never tell spots but because mixing the austere architecture with holiday decorations will be down right theatrical.   As expected, I will post my favorite decorations and hope you’ll help with the collection.

Eleonora Baldwin has snapped some beautiful shots of via del Corso.

Piazza Navona

Via dei Condotti

Piazza San Lorenzo in Lucino

Via del Corso