Ferragosto.

August means Rome is almost completely empty and shut down except for tourists, alternating pharmacies and gelaterie. It may be my favorite month in Rome because the city feels like it is all mine. No traffic, no double parked cars, no neighbors. Bella and I love walking up and down empty streets, pretending we are in the opening scene from 28 Days Later. Welcome to Ghostworld.

Yesterday morning, the Professor flew off to Baalbeck and Tyre, leaving me, Bella and Baby X to fend for ourselves. My plan was to create the ultimate Single Mom Ferragosto (followers will note that it is very similar to my pre-Mom August ritual): gelato every day for every meal. Gelato is healthy and, depending on the gelateria, could cover all food groups. And now that I’m a mom, I’ve noticed that it is the ideal snack for babies in the summer: fruity and cold. (For those who are aghast, X’s gelato options are melone, banana, limone, pera and fragola, all homemade and natural. Chocolate is next year.)

Back on track: this afternoon, I brought the entourage to Spicchio, our local gelateria, and upon entering, I happily snapped this photo to send to the Professor with the below message:


Moi:
Aug 12, 2009 15:37
Frappè al cioccolato and tè freddo al limone every day for the next 7 days! And you? How’re the dusty temples and 37 degrees? Xox moi/x

I know, I was texting a little cativeria, but The Professor needs to know what he is missing. Unfortunately, just as I was about to send the message and pay for our cones, I realized that I had left my wallet at home. (Another reason to love Rome: local shops remember the clientele). Gelato dude told me, “non fa niente. Siamo aperti fino a domani alle 19,” (no worries, we’re open until tomorrow at 7 pm).

WTF?

Yes. My gelateria is closing tomorrow at 7 pm for the next week or however much time the gelato dudes need for a vacation.

Message re-written:


Moi:
Aug 12, 2009 15:45
Bugiardi! Gelateria closing for vacanze?! We’re moving.