b
The other day, while searching for birthday present for my 4-year-old niece in Texas who knows nothing of Rome except that we go to bed far earlier than she does, I stumbled across the newly published Madeline and the Cats of Rome, by John Bemelmans Marciano, grandson of Ludwig, creator of Madeline. I haven’t had a chance to read the story, but I’ve already heard the shouts of Foul! Yes, Marciano is not his grandfather, in fact, he never met him. But no, I don’t think it is a shame that he has made this book.

I love children’s books, especially those with a Rome theme. These stories made me fall in love with the city, like Richard Scarry’s Good Luck Rome, and constantly remind me that I still am in love. No matter what, this book is already a success since Marciano’s Madeline and Rome drawings are beautiful and engaging enough to make my niece insist to my sister that she comes to Rome to visit me and the cats.


Good Luck in Rome, from Richard Scarry’s Best Story Book Ever!
Motoring around Rome.

This is Rome, by Miroslav Sasek- Rome in the 1960s.

Rome Antics by David Macaulay– an aerial view of Rome. Here’s his story on creating Rome Antics.
